A Rebellious Crisp

Standard

I have just been on a baking spree. Seriously… it seems like I have been baking and cooking nonstop! Breakfast food, dinner food, dessert food. I cook it all. Today I grilled some salmon, yellow squash, and asparagus. Nothing like a wholesome and healthy dinner.

Of course since I made dinner I wasn’t going to stop there. So I made dessert! Yes! Yum yum yum, dessert here I come! I fixed a crisp. Originally I was going to make a pie, and then a cobbler, and then I just decided I’d make a crisp.

And once again I made my own recipe. I don’t know what’s been going on recently. I’ve been making recipes my own all the time. And that’s so weird for me! Usually when I bake things (especially for the first time) I follow the recipe  exactly.

I guess my creative juices have been really flowing. Or I’ve been going through a time of rebellion. I’m rebelling from my past recipe following. I don’t want to be a follower. I want to be a leader! … or maybe I’ve just been feeling creative.

Anyway here’s my creative/rebellious recipe for rhubarb peach crisp

Ok, wait. Let me explain just how I came up with a rhubarb peach crisp in May. Peaches are not in season in May. I am aware of this. But I just so happened to have some frozen peaches with sugar that were ready to be made into a pie (hence my earlier self thinking I was going to make a pie) and I got those out to thaw. Then I was out in the lovely garden and saw the rhubarb growing and thought that would be nice to eat… so I picked some. Then I had both peaches and rhubarb ready to be made into something delicious. Thus a rhubarb peach crisp.

Rhubarb Peach Crisp (adapted from Taste of Home)

  • 2 C rhubarb
  • 4 C peaches*
  • 1/4 C sugar*
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • squeeze of lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 3 T flour
  • 1/2 C flour
  • 1/2 C oats
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of salt
  • 5 T cold butter

Preheat oven to 375 °. Combine ingredients from the rhubarb to the 3 T of flour. Pour into a 11″x8″ pan. Then combine the 1/2 c flour through the salt. Cut in the butter until a crumbly mixture forms. Crumble over the fruit mixture. Bake for 30-35 minutes until golden and bubbly.

*I used peaches that had been frozen with sugar. I slightly drained them. If you’re using fresh peaches, I recommend increasing the sugar to 1/2 to 3/4  C.

Ah the joys of delicious food. I just love warm crisps with a scoop of vanilla. There’s something about the mixing of the warmth of the crisp and the creamy coolness of the ice cream. *sigh* So delightful.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Peach Krumble | In the Pantry

Leave a Reply

