A Bit of Spontaneity

Standard

Spontaneity (n): the state, quality, or fact of being spontaneous

I am, I believe… I spontaneous baker. I will be doing something and all of a sudden have an intense urge to bake something. Take this evening for instance. I was browsing pinterest and wasting some time when BAM! I had the sudden urge to bake.

So, I started looking at some of my favorite cooking blogs and stumbled upon the perfect treat to bake. A blueberry crisp. It’s quick, easy, and we just so happen to have blueberries. Perfect!

Baking is something of a hobby of mine. It’s quite enjoyable. I like all aspects of it. I like finding a recipe, mixing everything together, baking it, and even cleaning up after. And of course my favorite part is eating it. That first bite is full of all that hard work and accomplishment… and usually quite a bit of sugar.

As I type this the crisp is baking in the oven… if you can call it a crisp… I actually made a little baking mistake. I forgot to add an ingredient. Oops! The crisp calls for a cup of flour and I just…left it out. I don’t quite know how it happened, but it did. So now there is no flour in it… and I’m not quite sure what that means.

Maybe I’ll just act like it was supposed to be this way. I purposefully did not add the flour…. because I wanted to be.. spontaneous. That’s it. I was feeling so spontaneous that I decided to go crazy and not add flour.

For this blueberry crisp I actually did something I don’t usually do. (Well, besides forget the flour) I tweaked the recipe. I changed it a little bit and made it my own. How exciting! I feel a sense of accomplishment. (If I forget about the flour… but that was spontaneity right?) Of course, it wasn’t really a big change…but still. My baking skills are coming out.

Anyway, here’s the recipe for you enjoyment :)

Blueberry Crisp (adapted from Brown Eyed Baker)

  • 2 C fresh blueberries
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1 C flour (it’s probably best if you don’t leave this out…)
  • 1 C rolled oats
  • 3/4 C brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 butter
Preheat oven to 350°. Toss the blueberries and sugar together and set aside. Then mix the flour through cinnamon. Cut in the butter until a course mixture forms. Use half to cover the bottom of an 8×8 pan. Cover with blueberries and then put the rest of the ‘crisp’ over that. Bake for 30-40 minutes until golden brown and the blueberries are bubbling.
One response »

  1. Pingback: Analysis kills spontaneity « All that I am, all that I ever was

Leave a Reply

